Dream Meets Reality

11/08/2003 - 10:46 a.m.

Music : So sad too bad-- nothing is playing

Mood : Quirky and tired

Random Proclamations from Me, Myself, and I : I came, I saw, I conquered

The car, the beer, the drunk

Storytime, storytime, yay yay storytime!! Ok my littel friends grab a seat because I have a story to tell where hilarity will ensue.

I was at work last night from 8-10, and on my way home I noticed there was a car trying to parallel park their car on my street. Now let's paint a picture for you ...

This car was an old buick, so it was the size of a small boat on wheels. Granted there are many of those out there, but this one was special. First off, the spot it was trying to back into ... big enough for 2 sideways motorcycles. So there is this monster of an automobile trying to fit into a space big enough for a baby carriage. Now, I'm not one to judge people, but this person was having a bit of a problem noticing the size of the parking spot. So, from across the street I yell "Hey buddy, I don't think you'll be able to get your car parked there."

(in a slurred speech patter)"Thanks dude." But then he kept on trying to park. Back and forth, back and forth. It was if he had to park in that spot, no matter the consequences.

So again I yell out to him: "Hey dude (a little sarcastic now), you're going to hit one of those fucking cars." Now this seemed to register something inside his head because next thing I know he tore off down the street a ways until he got to the next spot. This spot luckily was just big enough for him to get into, so we didn't have to go through that ordeal again.

Well, him and his two friends get out of their car, and they finally notice the hilarity of their situation. For on top of this car are three 24 packs of beer which they forgot to put inside. Seems as if they had driven all the way back from the store completely forgetting that their beer was still outside. Laughter ensues, the driver even ends up rolling around in the middle of the street... and all I could think -- drunkards and intelligence usually don't mix.

0 comments so far

back to life - forth to uncertainty

Site Meter

"When it was over, all I could think about was how this entire notion of oneself, what we are, is just this logical structure, a place to momentarily house all the abstractions. It was a time to become conscious, to give form and coherence to the mystery, and I had been a part of that. It was a gift. Life was raging all around me and every moment was magical. I loved all the people, dealing with all the contradictory impulses - that's what I loved the most, connecting with the people. Looking back, that's all that really mattered."

-Waking Life

Profile Notes Diaryland Archives